Daily Archives: June 13, 2008

NETTING TALAPIA

Last Thursday (12 June 2008) I was back in my wife hometown in Kg. Kuala Penor, Kuantan, Pahang.

Nelayan di Penor

While in Kuantan, I normally spend my time with my father-in-law and brother-in-law netting fish.  I’m no expert in netting nor fishing, I’m expert in eating fish only.  However, I like the thrill of pulling the net and the excitement taking the fish out from the net.

My father-in-law is a well known crab trader in Kg. Kuala Penor, he used to market crabs at Chinese restaurants in Kuantan.  But now he’s concentrating more on rearing lifestocks – chicken and ducks.

Back to my netting story, this time, we start our operation after breakfast – at around 9 am, the weather is a bit hot but not a normal hot, a “friendly hot” (anybody else using this word? inspirated from friendly fire).  We move to the location with motorcycle. 

We are heading to a place known to the local as Pokok Nipah.  It is a place where lot of fish will come for food – the biodiversity of this place makes a lot and various species of snails living in the area and this attracted the fish to come.

The Catch

We caught fish known as Talapia – I’ve known Talapia since my  childhood time, however I didn’t know that Talapia keep and rare her babies in the mouth. so when we pick the Talapia from the net, we can see the mother throwing out her babies.      http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tilapia

The catch for the day is not as per expected – less than my estimation however, it will surely safe our fish budget for one week.  Anyone out there who wanted to try Netting Talapia in Kg. Penor, Kuantan, contact me – you may stay in my father-in-law compound – build a tent okay…

SHAHRUL PESHAWAR, Kg. Baru

1 Comment

Filed under Di Minda Saya